Death


Thirty-seven days ago, I planned to write a series of Lenten Meditations on this blog, stuff I’ve been thinking about during Lent, what it might mean – you know, thoughts to change the world. Thoughts to save it.

Every time I observe Lent, I start with a plan. And, every time, I end up someplace very different.

 

We can try to force our spirits and minds in a given direction. We can try to make ourselves believe one thing or another.

We can try.

Most of us do. Try. To force ourselves to think a given way. Regardless of real life data or experience, impervious to education or emotion. We insist we have this One Right Opinion, and we refuse to budge.

In the process, we eliminate any opposing way of thinking.

One could say, we crucify it.

 

The challenge of observing Lent is, if you really *do* it, your plans will change.

You will find your ideas challenged, and you will experience, not conviction – but Doubt.

 

Real meditation leads to Doubt.

 

And, it must. How do we know what we believe if we don’t question it? Surely, God is so big that my wondering about this or that isn’t going to threaten Him. And if it does, can it really be said that He is God? If God is loving and compassionate, and if He did give us Free Will and Intellect, doesn’t it stand to reason that He would want us to use these things? Even if it means questioning Him?

 

Doubt does not mean that one lacks Faith. On the contrary, I believe it is the beginning of Faith.

I cannot plan my path towards enlightenment; I can only continue walking on it, and have Faith that it will bring me closer to Truth.

 

This is my lesson from this year’s Lent:

Release yourself from your notions, your planned understanding of what faith / philosophy / ideology should look like.

Just Be it.

About Shannon Blue Christensen

Storyteller. Author. Editor. Literary Critic. Director. Teacher. Knitter. nascent Musician. Student. Operations and Quality. Marketing. Historian. Lear's Fool. View all posts by Shannon Blue Christensen

10 responses to “Death

  • twitter followers

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate
    you penning this article and the rest of the website is
    really good.

  • Raunak

    Shannon, I feel that faith can only be leveraged by surrender, atleast at the time of worship. Around 3 months back I realized that while praying I was becoming more aware of every mantra that I was chanting and I was dissecting every ritual that I performed. Unfortunately, this took me away from the “trance” and meditation that these rituals are supposed to create. Since then I’ve been making a conscious effort to let go and just perform the rituals without thinking too much.
    In worship I feel it is important to keep the thinking mind aside and let a spiritual connect develop.

  • facebook

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page regularly, this
    site is actually nice and the people are genuinely sharing good thoughts.
    facebook
    facebook
    facebook

  • twitter

    I know this web page provides quality based content and additional information, is there any other site which gives such
    stuff in quality?. twitter
    twitter

  • youtube

    Wonderful blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this
    article? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Kudos!
    youtube
    youtube

  • twitter

    Great article. I will be experiencing many of these issues as well..

    twitter
    twitter

  • twitter

    Very soon this website will be famous amid all blogging and site-building people, due to it’s fastidious articles or reviews.
    twitter
    twitter

  • instagram

    Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a material!
    present here at this web site, thanks admin of
    this web site. instagram
    instagram

  • instagram

    It’s difficult to find well-informed people for this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks. instagram
    instagram

Leave a Reply

