tricky recipe


disclaimer: this was written, um, a few years ago, during my blue period. as i’ve started writing reviews of other people’s works, it’s only fair to give them a chance to review something i wrote. i sincerely don’t know what i think of this little bit, other than it’s a bit self-aware and unnatural. but, maybe it’s not “bad.” i can’t tell. it oozes earnestness. for better or less than. 

 

come out come out where-ever you are

but you

can’t catch me i’m the gingerbread girl

catch the ginger-

bread

girl

out of the oven at 350

burnt and howling

as her-

self

wrenched a way pulled

a part

crumbling

______________

-self crumbling in (my)

grasping digits

clawing (at) my/-self

he reaches

in and down and through and between

ripping

____________

as I search for the wo-man

I despair to

evolve into, grow into — or maybe it’s just disinfect

I stumble over what I am forced to be

the forced me, the cauterized I

slithers to be come

(m)other to my/self

to heal these

burns and lacerations

so

I will remix the ingredients

bake

and pull myself out

before

I am burned

then decorate like Christmas

About Shannon Blue Christensen

Storyteller. Author. Editor. Literary Critic. Director. Teacher. Knitter. nascent Musician. Student. Operations and Quality. Marketing. Historian. Lear's Fool. View all posts by Shannon Blue Christensen

Leave a Reply

