Kindness counquers all, even the kindness of strangers


Strangers Raise $56,000 to Help Kids Whose Parents Died in Superstorm Sandy | Team Mom – Yahoo! Shine.

The past few weeks, I’ve been overwhelmed with stories to tell, novels and blog posts, and guitar practice, puppies to train, legal and financial questions — so many things, so many important things.

Sometimes, though, even when I’m centered in my personal fog of wants and needs and impulses, I am reminded that there are many issues, many people whose needs are more acute than mine. Needs that, despite my own sometimes complicated daily life, I can help meet.

The link above is an amazing story. The young woman who is the subject of the “wish” is exceptional; her story is heart-breaking; her courage and resolve are inspiring. She is not the only shocking element of the story: the people who responded to her situation are just as inspiring.

The best part: each one is just an ordinary person. An everyday joe with his or her own challenges, but who sees a need or wish that he can meet, and does, simply because it is right and good do to what we can for others.

Before I return to my more self-absorbed posts about the things I think are important, I ask any reader of this post to please *please* go to this website. Look around. See all the things that you can offer to others — and then offer.

You’ll be amazing at how much you can do to make this life a better place, to create hope in the hopeless, and provide solace for the lonely – even if you are “poor” or “stressed” or “skill-less” or frightened. You can change someone’s fortune, a little bit at a time. Please do so.

 

http://www.wishuponahero.com

 

 

 

 

About Shannon Blue Christensen

Storyteller. Author. Editor. Literary Critic. Director. Teacher. Knitter. nascent Musician. Student. Operations and Quality. Marketing. Historian. Lear's Fool. View all posts by Shannon Blue Christensen

One response to “Kindness counquers all, even the kindness of strangers

  • Raunak

    to be able to give is indeed a true gift in itself. I hate that my government taxes most of my earnings, sits on it, does nothing for the needy and leaves me with nothing to do my part.

Leave a Reply

