An Embarrassment of Riches: Rush, NaNoWriMo, Zumba, Knitting, Book Reviews, & Good Old Fashioned Election Mud-slinging


… I may have missed a few in that title, but, hey….

Oh, yeah, I missed 2 BIG ones: my improving mastery of driving a manual Audi A4. Glorious. When sex cannot be available, find a good car to whip around good roads. Also, (snail-paced) improvement of guitar technique. I even have a stack – yes, a stack – Rush sheet music arriving in a few days. YES! nothing like trying to become a virtuoso while still learning one’s way around the fretboard. ;p

There have been several little mini-teaser posts lately promising my personal review of this year’s Clockwork Angels Tour at the TD Garden in Boston. *That* will be written.  My experience of the show was different than other write-ups of it; I believe it is worth sharing.

I’ve also promised a description of an NRA Safety Class I’ve been taking. (Seriously, I, who always supported the 2nd amendment as an idea but never planned on owning a gun!) Did you know that the physics and engineering behind how these things work is nothing short of an art form? It’s fantastic! Even if I never go to a shooting range or gravel pit, it is fascinating stuff.

I also have drafts pending with some discussion on legal process and the challenges one faces when pushing back against domestic violence, either on behalf of one’s self or someone else. This is an important topic and needs to be discussed. My views are a bit different from what one usually sees when discussing the law or victim’s rights or due process, etc., and I’d like to throw my hat into the conversation: not as a “oh, this is my past” story, but as a “this is what your future CAN look like if you decide to not get kicked around anymore. I can’t promise paradise, but I can promise freedom. And, I can tell you how to get there.”  Oddly, no one talks about that stuff, and I think we should.

As if all that weren’t enough, I’ve jumped into the National Novel Writing Month (www.nanowrimo.org) challenge – and, oh, baby! Talk about opening Pandora‘s Box.

There are more things I would like to share with my readers. More importantly, I would really like to hear what each of you thinks about all this in the comments section. We do not have to agree with each other to learn from one another. In fact, if you are kind enough to describe to me the way you understand the world, you give me the gift of making my world bigger, making my heart and mind grow, and helping me become a better friend, wife, mother, citizen, you name it.

So, I haven’t forgotten about the promises I’ve made to you – (and, really, to myself; it’s important to me to write about these things, even if no one else reads them).

Please be patient with me while I try to find my equilibrium with my real physical life, my blogging life, my writing life, my guitar, my dog…… I find that I need to brush off my old Project management skills and take a good ol’ look at what can be done, when, and by whom. I do not want to insult you the reader, the topic, or myself by posting shoddy work, so I am grateful to you as you watch me assemble my bar, and then learn to jump over it.

Lastly, it would be an honor if you would hold me accountable to these previews. Send me comments in the comments section or tweets on twitter. I keep my promises; sometimes it just takes me a bit longer to do so.

About Shannon Blue Christensen

Storyteller. Author. Editor. Literary Critic. Director. Teacher. Knitter. nascent Musician. Student. Operations and Quality. Marketing. Historian. Lear's Fool. View all posts by Shannon Blue Christensen

Leave a Reply

