The Right to Personal Freedom and Safety


In this election season, I’d like to give a big shout out to our Bill of Rights.

http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/bill_of_rights_transcript.html

I can say what I want, believe what I want, go where I want (unless restricted by due process), and be free to make all kinds of decisions, be they good or bad.

I can own my own gun, and if the police take too long to get somewhere to protect me, the law gives me permission to do what I must to keep myself and my loved ones safe.  In other words, I am free to be safe from harm, threat, or intimidation.  (I’m also permitted to protect myself from a tryannical government if elections don’t work.)

I don’t have to let a soldier stay in my house if I don’t want to.

I’m protected from unreasonable search and seizure by the government – which also protects my first amendment rights, and if I understand it correctly, affirms my second amendment right to protect myself from invasion or threat.

There are several amendments that assure a person of a fair trial. Now, I can say here that I am suspicious of how well these are applied (look at OJ Simpson, for Pete’s sake) — but  I can say that because of Amendment Number One.

The last one is lovely – is preserves States’ rights. I think DC has forgotten about that one.

So, let’s hear it for the Bill of Rights. I get to be free and I get to protect myself. The Constitution promises it.

About Shannon Blue Christensen

Storyteller. Author. Editor. Literary Critic. Director. Teacher. Knitter. nascent Musician. Student. Operations and Quality. Marketing. Historian. Lear's Fool. View all posts by Shannon Blue Christensen

2 responses to “The Right to Personal Freedom and Safety

Leave a Reply

